Doug Wright Awards honor Jesse Jacobs, Jenn Woodhall, Sami Alwani

Editorial cartoonist Duncan Macpherson was inducted into the Giants of the North Canadian cartoonist hall of fame during TCAF weekend.

A trio of first-time winners took home trophies from the Doug Wright Awards, presented yesterday during the Toronto Comics Arts Festival.

The Doug Wright Awards honor “the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics.” Check out the winners below:

Crawl Space by Jesse Jacobs won the 2018 Doug Wright Best Book Award.

Jenn Woodall was the winner of the 2018 Doug Wright Spotlight Award, or “the Nipper,” which is presented to a creator deserving of wider recognition. Her recent books include Magical Beatdown Vol. 2 and Worrywart.

Sami Alwani’s book The Dead Father was awarded the 2018 Pigskin Peters Award, presented to the most experimental, unconventional or avant-garde comic of the year.

This year’s inductee to the Giants of the North Canadian cartoonist hall of fame, which celebrates Canadian creators who have made a life-long contribution to the field, was editorial cartoonist Duncan Macpherson, who passed away in 1993. Macpherson was inducted into the Giants hall of fame by Terry “Aislin” Mosher, and accepted om his behalf by his son, Ian Macpherson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.