Slate announces the shortlist for the 2020 Cartoonist Studio Prize

Annual prize awards $1,000 to one print comic and one webcomic.

The Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies have announced the nominees for their eighth annual Cartoonist Studio Prize, which awards $1,000 to the creator of one print comic and one webcomic.

Slate began the program in 2012; previous winners include Noelle Stevenson for Nimona, Chris Ware for Building Stories, Taiyo Matsumoto for Sunny, Winston Rowntree for Watching, Carol Tyler for Soldier’s Heart: The Campaign to Understand My WWII Veteran Father, Eleanor Davis for Libby’s Dad and Keren Katz for The Academic Hour. Last year’s winners were Keiler Roberts for Chlorine Gardens and Lauren Weinstein for “Being an Artist and a Mother.”

This year’s print nominees include:

Sobek by James Stokoe

Bttm Fdrs by Ben Passmore and Ezra Claytan Daniels. Fantagraphics.
Flying Kites by the Stanford Graphic Novel Project. Self-published.
Glenn Ganges in the River at Night by Kevin Huizenga. Drawn and Quarterly.
Grass by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim. Drawn and Quarterly.
The Hard Tomorrow by Eleanor Davis. Drawn and Quarterly.
Hot Comb by Ebony Flowers. Drawn and Quarterly.
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell. First Second.
Pittsburgh by Frank Santoro. New York Review Comics.
Sobek by James Stokoe. ShortBox.
The Tenderness of Stones by Marion Fayolle. New York Review Comics.

This year’s webcomics nominees include:

From “About Face” by Nate Powell

“About Face” by Nate Powell.
“Cabramatta” by Matt Huynh.
Eat Street Diners Club by Will Dinski.*
“I Am More Than My Chromosomes” by Elísabet Rún.
Koreangry by Eunsoo Jeong.
“Loving My Inner Black Weirdo” by Bianca Xunise.*
Paranatural by Zack Morrison.
Sleepless Domain by Mary Cagle.
Tiger, Tiger by Petra Erika Nordlund.
“Unhealthy” by Abby Howard.

The nominees were selected by Slate’s Dan Kois, along with the faculty and students of the Center for Cartoon Studies, who were represented by Dan Nott. Winners will be selected by Kois, the CCS faculty and students, and special guest judge Candida Rifkind from the University of Winnipeg.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.