Slate announces Cartoonist Studio Prize shortlists

Winners of the annual award by Slate and the Center for Cartoon Studies will be announced in April.

Slate has announced the nominees for its annual Cartoonist Studio Prize, which awards $1,000 to the year’s “best” print comic and webcomic.

Slate began the program in 2012 in conjunction with the Center for Cartoon Studies. Previous winners include Noelle Stevenson for Nimona, Chris Ware for Building Stories, Taiyo Matsumoto for Sunny, Winston Rowntree for Watching, and Carol Tyler for Soldier’s Heart: The Campaign to Understand My WWII Veteran Father.

The shortlist for best print comic includes:

Burt’s Way Home by John Martz. Koyama Press.
Canopy by Karine Bernadou. Retrofit and Big Planet Comics.
Hilda and the Stone Forest by Luke Pearson. Flying Eye Books.
Libby’s Dad by Eleanor Davis. Retrofit and Big Planet Comics.
March: Book 3 by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell. Top Shelf.
Rolling Blackouts by Sarah Glidden. Drawn and Quarterly.
Rosalie Lightning by Tom Hart. St. Martin’s Press.
The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye by Sonny Liew. Pantheon.
The Longest Day of the Future by Lucas Varela. Fantagraphics.
We All Wish for Deadly Force by Leela Corman. Retrofit and Big Planet Comics.

And the shortlist for best webcomic includes:

Greek Diary by Glynnis Fawkes
I Trained to Fight the Enemy” by Jess Ruliffson
Normel Person by Lauren Weinstein
On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden
On Beauty” by Christina Tran
Rejected Anthology Submission” by Meghan Lands
Riverbound by Päivi Niinikangas
The Secrets in My Mother’s Nightstand” by Sophia Wiedeman
The Unofficial Cuckoo’s Nest by Luke Healy
Wonderlust by Diana Nock

The print list includes several books you might expect, like the third March and Sarah Glidden’s Rolling Blackouts. But what was most notable to me was the amount of books by Retrofit/Big Planet Comics that made the list; they’ve been bringing a lot of great comics out lately, so it’s well-deserved.

The judges for this year included Slate’s Jacob Brogan; Center for Cartoon Studies’ Jarad Greene and Karen Green, curator for comics and cartoons at Columbia University’s Rare Books and Manuscripts Library. This year’s winners will be announced in April.

One thought on “Slate announces Cartoonist Studio Prize shortlists”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.