Slugfest | ‘Radio Apocalypse’ goes on indefinite hiatus

Plus: A new Secret Stash title, Poison Ivy grows and Marvel Masterworks gets reprinted.

Vault Comics and writer Ram V have announced via press release that the comic series Radio Apocalypse will go on “an indefinite hiatus.” The series, which suffered delays before launch, only saw two issues published.

“We launched this book with much excitement and to celebration and acclaim,” Ram V said in the statement. “And for that I have readers, retailers and everyone who worked on this book to thank. Unfortunately, in the time since, Anand, Aditya and I have been through some rough times. I will allow everyone including myself some privacy but suffice to say health issues, bouts of COVID and some difficult family emergencies on my end have meant that we have been unable to work on this book with the care and attention it deserves.”

The series, which reunited Ram V with Anand RK, who he worked with on Grafity’s Wall, was about the last radio station on Earth.

Quick Stops #1 cover by John Sprengelmeyer

For his new Secret Stash Press imprint at Dark Horse, Kevin Smith will write Quick Stops, a four-issue miniseries set in the world of his View Askewniverse films. Each issue will be drawn by a different art team, starting with Jeremy Simser.

DC’s Poison Ivy series by G. Willow Wilson and Marcio Takara has grown by a story arc, as the publisher announced an additional six issues will follow the original six. Wilson will be joined by artist Atagun Ilhan for issues #7-8, then Takara will return to the title.

Fans of the Marvel Masterworks series who missed early volumes will be happy to know that Marvel has announced plans to start reprinting them next year. “Marvel Remasterworks” will begin by reprinting the earliest issues of Amazing Spider-Man, Fantastic Four and X-Men in May, June and July, respectively.

Image Comics has announced 3Keys, a new five-issue miniseries written and drawn by David Messina.

3Keys is not only an action-horror story about a friendship greater than the apocalypse,” Messina said. “But it is also a declaration of love toward pop culture and the sense of wonder that kept us in suspense as we read the books and comic books that have really stayed with us.”

The first issue arrives in October.

With Dan Slott’s time on Fantastic Four coming to an end this week, Marvel has announced plans to reboot the title following the A.X.E. Judgment Day crossover issues. Ryan North and Iban Coello will navigate Marvel’s first family’s adventures starting in November. Alex Ross provides the first issue’s two covers.

“I want to do these smaller, self-contained stories in the vein of ’60s Star Trek, where they go down to a planet, find a weird thing, fix the weird thing, and move on,” North said. “Having these four weirdos roll into town where there’s a mystery or a problem or some sci-fi thing, solve the problem, and then move on struck me as a very interesting way to position the Fantastic Four and tell stories that would feel fresh and not like a retread of what we’ve seen before.”

Jeffrey Brown brings his distinctive style to the Marvel Universe in Thor and Loki: Midgard Family Mayhem. If you’ve read his Star Wars books featuring Luke Skywalker and Darth Vader as father and son, or the recent Batman and Robin and Howard, then you are probably as delighted by this news as I am.

Thor was always one of my go-to comics to pick up at the comic shop, and I even had the little Thor Hot Wheels van,” Brown said. “I covered plenty of paper with doodles of his iconic winged helmet and hammer. Getting to dive in and do my own take on Thor and the other Asgardians was an absolute treat, especially Loki, who’s so much fun. I was one of three brothers growing up, so I loved having the opportunity to write about all the sibling mischief that kids get into!”

It arrives in stores next April.

Avengers scribe Jason Aaron will return to the world of creator-owned comics with an epic new series at BOOM! titled Once Upon a Time at the End of the World. In fact, it’s a series that’s so epic it required BOOM! to release four different press releases about it — the initial announcement, plus a release for each of the artists who will work with Aaron: Alexandre Tefenkgi, Leila del Duca and Nick Dragotta.

It’s a love story set at the end of the world: “This is the story of two lost kids who find each other at the very end of days. Like if Wes Anderson had directed ‘Road Warrior.’ But that’s only the beginning of their journey of survival and of the world’s last great love story,” Aaron said.

Marvel’s two Captain America titles will have their first crossover this fall, titled Cold War. It’ll not only include issues of Captain America: Sentinel of Liberty and Captain America: Symbol of Truth, but also a one-shot called Captain America & the Winter Soldier Special. The event will feature new villains, called the Outer Circle, as well as the return of Nomad.

One thought on “Slugfest | ‘Radio Apocalypse’ goes on indefinite hiatus”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.