Walden, Beaton, Hanawalt and more take home Ignatz Awards

Annual awards presented Saturday night at the Small Press Expo in Maryland.

Tillie Walden, Kate Beaton, Lisa Hanawalt, Noah Van Sciver, Meredith Gran, Carolyn Nowak and Sam Bosma all took home bricks last night from the Small Press Expo’s annual Ignatz Awards ceremony.

Walden actually took home two bricks: one for outstanding artist on The End of Summer and one for promising new talent on I Love This Part.

Named after the brick-throwing mouse from Krazy Kat, the awards are selected by a jury of five creators and voted on by attendees of the show. This year’s jury included Tony Breed, Summer Pierre, Keiler Roberts, C. Spike Trotman and J.T. Yost.

Here’s the list of all nominees, with the winners in bold, via the Washington Post:

Outstanding artist

Tillie Walden, for “The End of Summer”
Daniel Clowes, for “Patience”
Ryan Heshka, for “Mean Girls Club”
Kevin Huizenga, for “Ganges”
Noah Van Sciver, for “Disquiet”

Outstanding anthology or collection

“Step Aside Pops,” by Kate Beaton
“Beverly,” by Nick Drnaso
“Beyond: The Queer Sci Fi and Fantasy Anthology,” edited by Sfé R. Monster and Taneka Stotts
“The Complete Wimmen’s Comix,” edited by Trina Robbins
“Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine

Outstanding graphic novel

“Hot Dog Taste Test,” by Lisa Hanawalt
“Nod Away,” by Josh Cotter
“Sick,” by Gabby Schulz
“Soldier’s Heart,” by Carol Tyler
“Trashed,” by Derf Backderf

Outstanding story

My Hot Date, by Noah Van Sciver
“The Hunter,” by Joe Sparrow
“Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine
“Megg & Mogg in Amsterdam” from Megg & Mogg in Amsterdam and Other Stories, by Simon Hanselmann
“Shrine of the Monkey God,” by Kim Deitch from Kramers Ergot 9

Promising new talent

Tillie Walden, for “I Love This Part”
Kevin Budnik, for “Handbook”
Maia Kobabe, for “Tom O’Bedlam”
Sara Lautman, for “The Ultimate Laugh, Grape Nuts”
Carolyn Nowak, for “Radishes”

Outstanding series

“Powdered Milk,” by Keiler Roberts
“Cartozia Tales,” edited by Isaac Cates
“Demon,” by Jason Shiga
“Ganges,” by Kevin Huizenga
“Megg & Mogg & Owl,” by Simon Hanselmann

Outstanding comic

“Fantasy Sports No. 1,” by Sam Bosma
“As the Crow Flies,” by Melanie Gillman
“Be Good,” by John Martz
“Patience,” by Daniel Clowes
“Shrine of the Monkey God,” by Kim Deitch from Kramers Ergot 9

Outstanding minicomic

“Radishes,” by Carolyn Nowak
“The Experts,” by Sophie Franz
“Laffy Meal,” by Pranas T. Naujokaitis
“Maps to the Suns,” by Sloane Leong
“The Unofficial Cuckoo’s Nest,” by Luke Healy

Outstanding online comic

“Octopus Pie” [octopuspie.com], by Meredith Gran
A Cartoonist’s Diary” [tcj.com], by Rina Ayuyang
Just Doing My Job” [muthamagazine.com], by Gynnis Fawkes
“A Small Revolution” [revolution.boumerie.com], by Samantha Leriche-Gionet (AKA “Boum”)
“Vattu” [rice-boy.com], by Evan Dahm

One thought on “Walden, Beaton, Hanawalt and more take home Ignatz Awards”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.