Jim Zub, Stuart Immonen and more win 2018 Joe Shuster Awards

Annual awards recognize outstanding achievement in the creation of comic books, graphic novels and webcomics by Canadians.

The Joe Shuster Awards — Canada’s national award that honors and raises the awareness of Canadians that create, self-publish and sell comic books, digital comics and graphic novels — have announced their winners for 2018, which include Jim Zub, Jeff Lemire, Stuart Immonen and more.

Established in 2004, The Joe Shuster Awards are Canada’s national award recognizing outstanding achievement in the creation of comic books, graphic novels and webcomics. Named in honor of Superman co-creator Joe Shuster, the awards recognize the best of the Canadian comics world; nominees must be either Canadian citizens or permanent residents in Canada. The winners were chosen by a jury.

Winners are below. You can see the complete list of nominees here.

Writer: Jim Zub for Avengers, Thunderbolts, Wayward and many other titles
Artist: Stuart Immonen for Amazing Spider-Man and more
Cover artist: Djibril Morissette-Phan for Fantomah, Glitterbomb and more
Cartoonist: Jeff Lemire for Royal City and Roughneck
Webcomics creator: Gisele Lagace, David Lumsdon for Menage a 3

Gene Day Award for Self-Publishers: This award is given to a self-publisher who did not go through a distributor (like Diamond), and this year they split the award into two sub-categories, one for a single creator/creative team, and one for anthologies. The single creator award went to Marie And Worrywart: Comics About Anxiety by Jenn Woodall. The anthology award went to Moonshot: The Indigenous Comics Collection Vol. 2 , which was edited By Hope Nicholson.

Harry Kremer Award (Retailers): Gotham Central in Mississauga, Ontario

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids): Another Castle (Oni Press) by Andrew Wheeler and Paulina Ganucheau

The T.M. Maple Award: Mark Askwith, who you can read more about on the Shuster Awards website.

Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame: Inductees this year included Sid Barron, Jacques Goldstyn, Tom Grummett and David Boswell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.