Pastis wins the Reuben; ‘Kafkaesque,’ ‘Vampironica’ win NCS division awards

Winners of the annual awards presented by the National Cartoonists Society given out this weekend in Huntington Beach.

The National Cartoonists Society announced the winners of the annual Reuben Award and other divisional awards this weekend during NCS Fest in Huntington Beach, California.

After 11 nominations,Pearls Before Swine creator Stephan Pastis took home the Reuben Award, beating out Lynda Barry, Hilary Price, Brain Basset and Mark Tatulli for the honor.

Greg Smallwood’s work on Archie Comics’ Vampironica was recognized in the comic book category, while Peter Kuper’s Kafkaesque won in the graphic novel category.

Ota Yuko and Ananth Hirsch’s Barbarous won in the “online comic-long form” category, while Dorothy Gambrell’s Cat and Girl took home the “online comic – short form” award.

For the complete list of winners, check out The Daily Cartoonist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.