IDW Publishing to adapt Kings’ ‘Sleeping Beauties’

Stephen King and Owen King’s novel about a world without women will be adapted by Rio Youers and Alison Sampson.

Rio Youers and Alison Sampson are bringing Sleeping Beauties, the 2017 novel by Stephen King and Owen King, to comics.

“We are so excited about Rio and Alison’s vision for Sleeping Beauties,” says Owen King, who is Stephen’s son. “We’ve been fans of Rio’s for years and Alison’s artwork is simply extraordinary. IDW couldn’t have found a better pairing.”

The novel is about a strange mystical occurrence that puts all women to sleep, leaving men to fend for themselves.

“To work on anything with the King name attached is surreal, dizzying, and somewhat terrifying,” said Youers. “As soon as my feet touch terra firma, I will focus on my goal: to stay true to the novel’s spirit, and to deliver a page-turning, visually impacting experience that will appeal to readers of both Stephen and Owen King’s fiction, and to comics fans the world over.”

“I’m thrilled to be able to work on Sleeping Beauties,” says Sampson. “The story is very suggestive for interesting art, with magical themes interwoven through a very real place setting in Appalachia, and the opportunity to draw some truly diverse people. Places, spaces, gender, bodies, character, relationships, political themes, emotions, a challenging (and almost certainly innovative) design job, and a great story – it’s all here. I cannot wait to share what we are making.”

The 10-issue series will kick off in early 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.