2020 Doug Wright Awards winners announced

Nina Bunjevac, Sylvia Nickerson, Elise Gravel and Freddy Carrasco were announced as winners during the virtual presentation.

The Doug Wright Awards, which honor “the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics,” presented their 2020 awards this past weekend during a livestream.

Nearly 200 people tuned in on YouTube and Facebook to watch the event, which normally would have taken place live during the Toronto Comic Arts Festival but was cancelled this year due to the global coronavirus pandemic.

Check out the winners below.

The Doug Wright Award for best book
Nina Bunjevac
Published by Fantagraphics Books

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent
(Sponsored by Broken Pencil and Valleyview Artist Retreat)
Sylvia Nickerson
for Creation
Published by Drawn & Quarterly

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book
Freddy Carrasco
Published by Peow Studios

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ books
The Worst Book Ever

Elise Gravel
Published by Drawn & Quarterly

Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame
Walter Ball
Creator of the strip Rural Route

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.