Lynda Barry wins the Reuben Award

‘Usagi Yojimbo,’ ‘They Called Us Enemy’ recognized in the NCS divisional awards.

This has been a very busy weekend for comics, from DC FanDome to the Small Press Expo and the Ignatz Awards to the National Cartoonist Society‘s virtual NCSFest, their annual event where the winner of the Reuben Award is announced (as well as other awards).

As announced during NCSFest, cartoonist Lynda Barry has won the Reuben Award for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year. The award has been presented annually since 1954 and was named for Rube Goldberg.

Lynda Barry’s Marlys

Barry’s extensive body of work includes the comic strip Ernie Pook’s Comeek, as well as graphic novels like Making Comics, The Good Times are Killing Me, Cruddy, What It Is and One! Hundred! Demons! She’s also a member of the Eisner Hall of Fame and received the Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017. In addition to being a cartoonist, she works as an associate professor of art and Discovery Fellow at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Lynda Barry

“We’re so thrilled to be able to honor Lynda and her work in this way,” said NCS President Jason Chatfield. “She is a treasure, and we’re lucky to be able to enjoy her wit, wisdom and artistic talent. She is a great light in dark times.”

In addition to the Reuben Award, the NCS also presented their 74th annual divisional awards across several categories. Those winners included Stan Sakai’s Usagi Yojimbo for “Best Comic Book” and They Called Us Enemy by George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott and Harmony Becker for “Best Graphic Novel.” You can see the complete list of winners below.

Comic Book
Stan Sakai – “Usagi Yojimbo”

Graphic Novel
Harmony Becker – “They Called Us Enemy”

Book Illustration
Stacy Curtis – “Karate Kakapo”

Magazine/Newspaper Illustration
Tom Richmond

Luke McGarry

Online Comics – Long Form
Alec Longstreth – “Isle of Elsi”

Online Comics – Short Form
Jim Benton

Greeting Cards
Scott Nickel

Animation – Feature
“Missing Link” – Nelson Lowry, Santiago Montiel and Trevor Dalmer, production designers

Animation – Television
“Primal” – Genndy Tartakovsky, creator, writer, director

Animation – Online
“Pinocchio – A Modern Retelling” – Joe Bluhm, storyboard, concept design, art direction character design, director

Newspaper Comic Strip
Brian Crane – “Pickles”

Newspaper Panel
Dave Blazek – “Loose Parts”

Editorial Cartoon
Pat Bagley

Gag Cartoon
Amy Hwang

Variety Entertainment
Joe Wos – “Mazetoons”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.