Gene Yang, The Nib and more win 2020 Harvey Awards

Awards ceremony will be held this Friday.

The Harvey Awards have announced their 2020 award recipients through their outlet of choice, The Hollywood Reporter. The awards announcement comes several days before a virtual ceremony that’s supposed to be part of New York Comic Con and MCM Comic Con’s Metaverse event.

So why are they announcing them now? Who knows — 2020 is weird. But hey, here are the winners:

  • Book of the Year: Dragon Hoops by Gene Luen Yang (First Second)
  • Digital Book of the Year: The Nib edited by Matt Bors (
  • Best Children or Young Adult Book: Superman Smashes the Klan by Gene Luen Yang and Gurihiru (DC Comics)
  • Best Manga: Witch Hat Atelier by Kamome Shirahama (Kodansha Comics)
  • Best International Book: Grass by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim, translated by Janet Hong (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel: Watchmen by HBO, based on Watchmen (DC Comics)

In addition, the Harveys announced their 2020 Hall of Fame inductees:

  • Osamu Tezuka (Astro Boy).
  • Jill Thompson (Scary Godmother).
  • The founding members of Milestone Media: Denys Cowan, Derek T. Dingle, Michael Davis and the late Dwayne McDuffie.

You can watch the awards ceremony on Friday via the Harvey Awards YouTube site.

Update: You can watch the virtual presentation ceremony below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.