Winners announced for the 2021 Doug Wright Awards

S. Bédard, Veronica Post and more took home awards as Fred Kelly was inducted into the ‘Giants of the North’ hall of fame.

The Doug Wright Awards, which honor “the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics,” presented their 2021 awards last night during a livestream, which you can find embedded below.

Author Margaret Atwood, cartoonist David Collier, last year’s Nipper winner Sylvia Nickerson and author/teacher Emily Pohl-Weary were on hand to present the awards during a ceremony hosted by Don McKellar. R. Sikoryak was on hand once again to “live” draw the ceremony, and the evening also included tributes to Annie Koyama of Koyama Press and Bill Wright, the son of Doug Wright, who died in December.

Fred Kelly, the writer and artist best known for his work with Bell Features and for creating the character Mr. Monster, was inducted into the “Giants of the North” hall of fame.

Check out the rest of the winners below.

The Doug Wright Award for best book
Lonely Boys
S. Bédard 
(Pow Pow Press)

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Awards for emerging talent
Veronica Post
Langosh & Peppi: Fugitive Days
(Conundrum Press)

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small or micro-press book
(Sponsored by Broken Pencil)
The Noiseless Din
Scott Carruthers
(Popnoir Editions)

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book
A Slug Story
Mandi Kujawa, Hana Kujawa, Claude St. Aubin, and Lovern Kindzierski
(Renegade Arts Entertainment)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.