Winners announced for the 2021 Ringo Awards

The winners were announced in a ceremony that was livestreamed from the Baltimore Comic-Con this weekend.

The winners for the 2021 Ringo Awards were announced last night at the Baltimore Comic-Con, marking the fifth year for the awards program named for artist Mike Wieringo, who passed away in 2007.

Nominees were chosen by fans, along with a panel of judges that included retailer and online host Amy Dallen, Teaching Graphic Novels author Dr. Katie Monnin, podcaster/broadcast journalist John Siuntres, cartoonist Steenz and artist Brain Stelfreeze.

In addition the Ringos, a few other awards were presented during last night’s ceremony:

  • Artist Gene Ha was presented the Hero Initiative’s Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award.
  • Marvel’s Joe Quesada received the Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • The Mike Wieringo Spirit Award, which is voted on by the professional jury as well as three additional, perennial jurors: Matt Wieringo, Todd Dezago, and Mark Waid, went to Folklords by Matt Kindt and Matt Smith.

You can find the replay of the event’s livestream on YouTube. The rest of the winners are:

Continue reading “Winners announced for the 2021 Ringo Awards”