CXC recognizes first recipients of the Tom Spurgeon Award

Mollie Slott, Orrin Evans and Kim Thompson were recognized for supporting cartoonists and enhancing the field ‘in a last and measurable way.’

Cartoon Crossroads Columbus has announced the honorees of the inaugural Tom Spurgeon Awards. Named after the CXC Executive Director and The Comics Reporter founder, who passed away in 2019, The Tom Spurgeon Award will be awarded to “someone who is not primarily a cartoonist and whose support of cartoonists and cartoon art enhanced the field in a lasting and measurable way.”

Lucy Shelton Caswell, CXC board member and the founding curator of the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum (who also has an award named after her), announced the recipients in a video:

Continue reading “CXC recognizes first recipients of the Tom Spurgeon Award”