Nominees announced for the Doug Wright Awards

Margaret Bloy Graham will be inducted into the Giants of the North Hall of Fame.

The nominees have been announced for the 18th annual Doug Wright Awards, which honor “the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics.”

Candlewick Press, Conundrum Press, Drawn & Quarterly and Tundra Books all received multiple nominations for books they published, while creators Sofia Alarcon, Brigitte Archambault and Alexander Laird also received multiple nods.

This year the awards will be given out live and in-person for the first time since before the pandemic, on June 18 at 7 p.m. Eastern during the Toronto Comic Arts Festival. The event will also be livestreamed on YouTube.

The nominees are:

The Doug Wright Award for best book

The Shiatsung Project
Brigitte Archambault 
Conundrum Press

Cyclopedia Exotica
Aminder Dhaliwal
Drawn & Quarterly

The Rock From the Sky
Jon Klassen
Candlewick Press

Stone Fruit
Lee Lai

Fictional Father
Joe Ollmann
Drawn & Quarterly

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent

Sofia Alarcon
Endsickness  No. 1

Sami Alwani
The Pleasure of the Text
Conundrum Press

Brigitte Archambault
The Shiatsung Project
Conundrum Press

Alexander Laird
Sleemor Gank: Burg Land No. 1

Kyle Simmers and Ryan Danny Owen
Pass Me By: Gone Fishin’ and Pass Me By: Electric Vice
Renegade Arts Entertainment

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book

Endsickness No. 1
Sofia Alarcon

Kim Edgar
Moniker Press

The Northern Gaze
Akeeshoo Chislett, Chris Caldwell, Cole Pauls, Andrew Sharp, Juliann Fraser, Esther Bordet, Alison McCreesh, Keith Verbonac, Princess J; edited by Kim Edgar
Hecate Press

Sleemor Gank: Burg Land No. 1
Alexander Laird

Dwellings No. 2
Jay Stephens
Black Eye Books

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book

Simon and Chester: Super Sleepover!
Cale Atkinson
Tundra Books

Otter Lagoon
Mike Deas and Nancy Deas
Orca Book Publishers

Living with Viola
Rosena Fung
Annick Press

Shirley and Jamilla’s Big Fall
Gillian Goerz
Dial Books for Young Readers

Over the Shop
JonArno Lawson and Qin Leng
Candlewick Press

Etty Darwin and the Four Pebble Problem
Lauren Soley
Tundra Books

Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame

This year’s Giants of the North inductee is Margaret Bloy Graham (1921–2015), a children’s book creator, best known for her work on Harry the Dirty Dog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.