Nominees announced for the 2021 Reuben, NCS awards

Winners will be revealed in September.

The National Cartoonist Society has announced the nominees for the 2021 Cartoonist of the Year, commonly known as The Reuben Award, as well as the many divisional awards they give out each year.

Keith Knight, Edward Sorel, Bill Griffith, Hilary B. Price and Mark Tatulli are all up for the Reuben the year, with several of them being nominated in years past. Last year Curtis creator Ray Billingsley won the award.

The divisional awards cover everything from comics and graphic novels to comic strips, editorial cartoons and even greeting cards. They also nominate the cartoonist or artist, vs. the work or the entire creative team. I’ve included the nominations that are relevant to the world of comics below, but you can see the full list on the NCS website.

2020 NCS Cartoonist of the Year, aka the Reuben Award

  • Keith Knight, creator of K Chronicles and Woke
  • Edward Sorel, magazine illustrator, Profusely Illustrated: A Memoir
  • Bill Griffith, creator of Zippy the Pinhead
  • Hilary B. Price, creator of Rhymes with Orange
  • Mark Tatulli, creator of Liō and Heart of the City

Comic Books

  • Trish Forstner
  • Gideon Kendall
  • David Petersen

Gag Cartoons

  • Emily Flake
  • Amy Hwang
  • Christopher Weyant

Graphic Novels

  • Juan Cavia
  • Ted Naifeh
  • Eric Powell

Editorial Cartoons

  • Ruben Bolling
  • Marco DeAngelis
  • Michael Ramirez

Newspaper Comic Strips

  • Hector Cantu
  • John Hambrock
  • Mark Tatulli

Newspaper Panels

  • David Blazek
  • Dave Coverly
  • Hilary Price

Online Comics: Long Form

  • Emily Flake
  • Meredith Moriarty
  • Dan Piraro

Online Comics: Short Form

  • Jonathan Lemon
  • Scott Nickel
  • Rich Powell

One thought on “Nominees announced for the 2021 Reuben, NCS awards”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.