Bunn + Luckert + Leiz flip for horror in ‘Shock Shop’

The new horror anthology arrives in September.

Dark Horse will publish a new “flip book” horror anthology that features stories by Cullen Bunn, Danny Luckert, Leila Leiz and more starting in September.

Each issue of the four-issue miniseries will feature two stories, as well as variant covers by Francesco Francavilla, Fábio Moon, Caitlin Yarsky, James Stokoe, James Harren and Tonci Zonjic.

Shock Shop will be set in a comic shop with “a twisted retailer filled with tales of terror,” in the tradition of Creepshow, Tales from the Crypt and other horror anthologies with a spooky host. Bunn said it will feature “horror yarns and celebration of horror” on Twitter. Bunn previously worked with Luckert on Regression from Image Comics, and with Leiz on The Last Book You’ll Ever Read from Vault Comics.

Here’s the description of the first two stories in issue #1:

In FAMILIARS: After a painful divorce and custody battle, Trevor rents a house and tries to rebuild his life. Soon, he discovers that his house appears to be “haunted” by more than one spirit: the minions of a long-dead coven of witches. When the creatures begin feeding on Trevor’s feelings of anger and guilt, they lash out at those who draw his ire, whether he wants them to or not.

In SOMETHING IN THE WOODS, IN THE DARK: A husband and wife who are going through a tough time go on a camping trip with a few friends into the deep woods. As they trek further into the forest, they realize that they are being stalked. Something in the woods starts killing the campers–a hideous, inhuman thing that may have more ties to the campers than any of them realize.

On his variant cover for the first issue, Francavilla pays tribute to the late Neal Adams:

Look for the first issue from your twisted comics retailer on Sept. 7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.