2022 Doug Wright Awards winners announced

Congratulations to this year’s winners.

The Doug Wright Awards, which honor “the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics,” presented their 2022 awards over the weekend during the Toronto Comic Arts Festival.

This was their first in-person awards ceremony since the beginning of the COVID pandemic in 2020. The event was hosted by film critic Richard Crouse, and featured appearances by Jenn Woodall, David Collier and Dustin Harbin. The outdoor event was also livestreamed, but unfortunately the wind makes the audio very difficult to hear.

Here are the winners:

The Doug Wright Award for best book

The Shiatsung Project
Brigitte Archambault 
Conundrum Press

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent

Sami Alwani
The Pleasure of the Text
Conundrum Press

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book

Dwellings No. 2
Jay Stephens
Black Eye Books

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book

Shirley and Jamilla’s Big Fall
Gillian Goerz
Dial Books for Young Readers

Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame

This year’s Giants of the North inductee is Margaret Bloy Graham (1921–2015), a children’s book creator, best known for her work on Harry the Dirty Dog.

One thought on “2022 Doug Wright Awards winners announced”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.