2019 Eisner Hall of Fame nominees announced

Jim Aparo, Dave Stevens, June Tarpé Mills and Morrie Turner will be automatically inducted, while voters will choose four more from a field of 14.

Comic-Con International has announced this year’s nominees for the Eisner Hall of Fame. They include the four judges’ choices — who will be automatically inducted — and 14 other nominees, four of whom will be inducted based on voters’ choices.

The judges’ choices are Jim Aparo, who is probably best known for his work on various Batman titles, including Batman and the Outsiders; Dave Stevens, creator of the Rocketeer; June Tarpé Mills, the Golden Age creator of Miss Fury; and Morrie Turner, creator of the Wee Pals newspaper strip in the 1960s.

Voters will choose four inductees from the following:

  • Brian Bolland
  • Kevin Eastman
  • Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez
  • Lynn Johnston
  • Jenette Kahn
  • Paul Levitz
  • Alex Nino
  • Lily Renée Peter Phillips
  • Wendy & Richard Pini
  • P. Craig Russell
  • Bill Sienkiewicz
  • Don & Maggie Thompson
  • Akira Toriyama
  • Naoki Urasawa

This is a pretty stacked list, no doubt making for some difficult choices. You can read about each of the nominees on the CCI website.

One thought on “2019 Eisner Hall of Fame nominees announced”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.