Nominees announced for this year’s NCS divisional, Reuben awards

Daniel Acuna, John Allison, Greg Smallwood, Rick Geary, Brenna Thummler and more receive nominations.

Nominees have been announced for the National Cartoonists Society’s annual awards program, which includes their divisional awards and the “Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year” award, a.k.a. The Reuben.

Four of the five Reuben nominees mirror last year’s line-up, as Lynda Barry, Stephan Pastis, Hilary Price and Mark Tatulli have all been nominated again. Joining them is Brain Basset, creator of the comic strips Red and Rover and Adam @ Home. Glen Keane won the award last year.

The divisional awards include categories that cover comic books, animation, political cartoons and more. Even in the categories that weren’t comic book-specific, you’ll likely see some familiar names. The winners will be announced on May 18.

Here are the nominees:

Editorial Cartoons

  • Clay Bennett
  • Michael Ramirez
  • Rob Rogers

Magazine / Newspaper Illustration

  • Tom Bunk
  • Amy Kurzweil
  • Jim Woodring

Feature Animation

  • Shiyoon Kim (Character Design) – Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
  • Peter Ramsay (Director) – Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
  • Justin K. Thompson (Production Design) – Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Television Animation

  • Castlevania (Netflix)
  • Hilda (Netflix)
  • The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle (Amazon Prime)

Newspaper Panels

  • Dave Blazek – Loose Parts
  • Mark Parisi – Off the Mark
  • Jerry Van Amerongen – Ballard Street

Gag Cartoons

  • Joe Dator
  • Pia Guerra
  • Amy Hwang

Advertising / Product Illustration

  • James Lyle
  • Luke McGarry
  • Johnny Sampson

Comic Books

  • Daniel Acuna – Black Panther
  • John Allison – Giant Days
  • Greg Smallwood – Vampironica

Graphic Novels

  • Rick Geary – Chester & Grace: The Adirondack Murder
  • Peter Kuper – Kafkaesque
  • Brenna Thummler – Sheets

Online Comics – Long Form

  • Vince Dorse – Untold Tales of Bigfoot
  • Tom Parkinson-Morgan – Kill Six Billion Demons
  • Yuko Ota and Ananth Hirsh – Barbarous

Online Comics – Short Form

  • Dorothy Gambrell – Cat and Girl
  • Lonnie Millsap – Bacon
  • Zack Weinersmith – Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal

Book Illustration

  • Genevieve Godbout – Mary Poppins
  • Eda Kaban – Even Superheroes Make Mistakes
  • Rafael Lopez – The Day You Begin

Newspaper Strips

  • John Hambrock – The Brilliant Mind of Edison Lee
  • Will Henry – Wallace the Brave
  • Mike Peters – Mother Goose and Grimm

Variety Entertainment

  • James Allen – Mark Trail
  • John Graziano – Ripley’s Believe It or Not
  • Bucky Jones
  • Dave Klug

Greeting Cards

  • Scott Nickel
  • Maria Scrivan
  • Dan Walsh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.