2020 Doug Wright Awards nominees announced

Connor Willumsen, Sarah Leavitt, Jay Stephens, Chris Kuzma and more nominated for awards this year.

Nominees for the 2020 Doug Wright Awards, which honor “the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics,” were announced this week. Conundrum Press leads the pack this year in terms of nominations, with four, while Drawn & Quarterly and Koyama Press each received two nominations.

The Doug Wright Awards also announced that Walter Ball, a longtime cartoonist for the Toronto Star and creator of the strip Rural Route, will be inducted into the “Giants of the North” hall of fame.

You can find the complete list of nominees below.

poster by Hartley Lin

The Doug Wright Award for best book

This Place: 150 Years Retold 
Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Sonny Assu, Brandon Mitchell, Rachel and Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley, David A. Robertson, Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Jen Storm, Richard Van Camp, Katherena Vermette, Chelsea Vowel, Tara Audibert, Kyle Charles, GMB Chomichuk, Natasha Donovan, Scott A. Ford, Scott B. Henderson, Ryan Howe, Andrew Lodwick, Jen Storm, Donovan Yaciuk, Alicia Elliott
HighWater Press

The Cursed Hermit
Kris Bertin, Alexander Forbes
Conundrum Press

Nina Bunjevac
Fantagraphics Books

Agnes, Murderess
Sarah Leavitt
Freehand Books

Death Threat
Vivek Shraya, Ness Lee
Arsenal Pulp Press

Bradley of Him
Connor Willumsen
Koyama Press

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent

D. Boyd
Chicken Rising
Conundrum Press

Jason Bradshaw
Things Go Wrong
Paper Rocket

Sylvia Nickerson
Drawn & Quarterly

Ben O’Neil
Popnoir Editions

Cole Pauls
Dakwäkãda Warriors
Conundrum Press

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book

Boumeries, Vol. 9

Freddy Carrasco
Peow Studios

Baby in the Boneyard
Jesse Jacobs
Hollow Press

Curb Angels
Lisa Mendis, Christopher Ducharme, Lucas C. Pauls
At Bay Press

Jay Stephens
Black Eye Books

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book

Brick Breaks Free
David Craig

The Worst Book Ever
Elise Gravel
Drawn & Quarterly

Lunch Quest
Chris Kuzma
Koyama Press

Dakwäkãda Warriors
Cole Pauls 
Conundrum Press

Alma and the Beast
Esme Shapiro
Tundra Books

This year’s judges for the awards include Shanda Deziel, Deborah Dundas, Meags Fitzgerald, Jesse Jacobs, Calum Johnston, Alison McCreesh, Serah-Marie McMahon, Noah Van Sciver, Todd Stewart, Philip Street, Maurice Vellekoop and Kat Verhoeven. The awards are usually announced at TCAF, which has been canceled this year due to the coronavirus, so this year’s they are presenting them online on May 9 at 8 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.