Free Comic Book Day 2022 Gold titles revealed

Diamond Comics Distributors has revealed the 11 gold-tiered titles you can get for free next May.

Diamond Comics Distributors has revealed the 11 “gold sponsor” titles that retailers will have available on Free Comic Book Day 2022, which is scheduled for May 7.

“This year’s lineup of titles has something for every kind of comic fan,” said Ashton Greenwood, Free Comic Book Day spokesperson. “We’re excited for FCBD to return to the first Saturday in May, and we can’t wait to celebrate the day with another incredible line up of comic book titles. We hope fans will safely visit their local comic shops to celebrate and to pick up a few of the great titles available this year.”

Free Comic Book Day returns to its traditional May date next year after a couple of years where the pandemic caused a bit of a shuffle — but what’s new, right? This past year the event was held in August, while in 2020 the date went through several changes before ultimately being cancelled — but comics were still delivered to retailers for distribution as they saw fit during the summer.

Here’s a look at the Gold Sponsor titles; the Silver titles will likely be announced soon as well. Also, there are no DC titles on the list, since they no longer use Diamond, but it’s a safe bet they’ll have free comics available in May as well.

Archie Comics | THE BEST ARCHIE COMIC EVER! #0

A new dawn of Archie is upon us! Archie Andrews has forever been known as an everyman. He’s your average teenager, and that’s what makes him so well-liked. But it doesn’t take a super-scientist, super-hero, or super-spy to see that Archie is anything BUT average! This title serves as a special sneak peek at what’s to come from Archie Comics’ new series of anthology titles. Get in on the ground floor of a new era of Archie with this special issue zero title.

AWA Studios | AWA STUDIOS TBA GOLD TITLE

For FCBD, AWA Studios is launching an exciting new tale, bigger than anything they’ve done before! Details are being kept under lock and key for the time being, but freecomicbookday.com will have all the newest info and updates as they become available, so make sure to check back over the coming months.

BOOM! Studios | 25 YEARS OF BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER

This FCBD, it’s the 25th anniversary of Buffy the Vampire Slayer! What better way to celebrate 25 years of Buffy than with a high school yearbook? This Free Comic Book Day special, in actual yearbook format, is a retrospective of your fan-favorite character moments from the past two decades. Celebrate the Chosen One, the Scoobies, and all your faves through yearbook photos, vignettes, and plenty of jokes and lighthearted moments from an array of artists and writers. 

Dark Horse Comics | STRANGER THINGS/ RESIDENT ALIEN

Dark Horse Comics is celebrating the weird and wonderful, bringing you stories both strange and alien! In Stranger Things, Eleven, Will and Jonathan go to a drive-in theater for a double creature feature, but the local festivities and scary costumes bring back haunting memories. Then, in Resident Alien, Dr. Harry and nurse Asta help an elderly patient in the small town of Patience investigate a ghostly presence in her house!

Graphix/ Scholastic | PILKEY SAMPLER: DAV PILKEY’S DOG MAN & FRIENDS SUPER COMIC TEASER

Laugh out loud with this super fun Dav Pilkey sampler! The Free Comic Book Day exclusive includes fan-favorite moments from the bestselling Dog Man, Cat Kid Comic Club, and, of course, Captain Underpants series.

IDW Publishing | TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES FCBD SPECIAL 2022

The Ninja Turtles have broken out of the locked-down neighborhood of Manhattan known as Mutant Town, but which Ninja Turtles? As all new mutants terrorize NYC, enemies and allies of the TMNT prepare for a confrontation greater than any that has come before: the Rat King’s diabolical Armageddon Game! The TMNT event of 2022 starts on Free Comic Book Day! 

Image Comics | BONE ORCHARD MYTHOS PRELUDE

A troubled writer books a secluded cabin on a serene lake in an attempt to get away from his troubled marriage and looming deadlines. But what he doesn’t know when he arrives is that he is already in the cabin. In fact, he may have always been there. Face-to-face with his own demons, the writer discovers the first terrifying pieces of The Bone Orchard Mythos a sprawling, new, interconnected horror universe from the Eisner Award winning team of Andrea Sorrentino and Jeff Lemire!

nsha

Kodansha Comics | WANDANCE & BLACKGUARD SAMPLER

On Free Comic Book Day, get an exclusive preview of two new manga stories. With thrilling scenes of Japanese hip-hop dance and quirky, charming characters, Wandance is a new, inspirational coming-of-age manga perfect for fans of Blue Period and Your Lie in April. Blackguard is a dark, post-apocalyptic fantasy from the creator of Devils’ Line, Ryo Hanada. Two tales inside one comic that you won’t want to miss!

Marvel Comics | SPIDER-MAN/ VENOM #1

Marvel Comics presents Spider-Man/Venom #1. This exclusive Free Comic Book Day special will offer fans their first glimpse at Spider-Man’s new era and check in on the thought-provoking work from Al Ewing, Ram V, and Bryan Hitch in their current Venom run.

Titan Comics| DOCTOR WHO #1

Set off on an epic new adventure with the traveling Time Lord! This issue serves as a lead-in to the explosive new story arc that reveals the very early years of the Doctor. Past, present and future all collide in a Doctor Who tale that is sure to be out of this world!

VIZ Media | KAIJU NO. 8/ SAKAMOTO DAYS

With the highest kaiju-emergence rates in the world, Japan is no stranger to attack by deadly monsters. Enter the Japan Defense Force, a military organization tasked with the neutralization of kaiju. Kafka Hibino, a kaiju-corpse cleanup man, has always dreamed of joining the force. But when he gets another shot at achieving his childhood dream, he undergoes an unexpected transformation that leaves him wondering: how can he fight kaiju now that he’s become one himself? Then, in Sakamoto Days, Taro Sakamoto was once a legendary hit man considered the greatest of all time. Bad guys feared him! Assassins revered him! But then one day he quit, got married, and had a baby. Now, he’s living the quiet life. But how long can Sakamoto enjoy his days of retirement before his past catches up to him?

One thought on “Free Comic Book Day 2022 Gold titles revealed”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.