Nominees announced for the 2022 Ignatz Awards

The annual Ignatz Awards celebrate outstanding achievement in independent comics and cartooning.

The Small Press Expo, or SPX, has announced the nominees for the 2022 Ignatz Awards.

The Ignatz Awards, which have been handed out since 1997, celebrate the outstanding achievements of independent comics, graphic novels and alternative political cartoons. Named for the mouse that appears in the Krazy Kat comics by George Herriman, the logo changes each year as a new artist draws the mouse and his weapon of choice, the brick. This year’s logo is by Pa Luis.

Nominees were determined by a jury that included Cuyler Hedlund, Breena Nunez, Josh O’Neil, Alex Hoffman and Hazel Newlevant. Anyone can vote on the winners, which will be done over email rather than in person at the show, like it’s been in previous years. You can find more details on the SPX website.

Congrats to all the nominees:


  • Halcyon, illustrated by Ron Regé Jr. (Fantagraphics)
  • Four Years Collected: Vol 2, by K Czap (Czap Books)
  • The City of Belgium, illustrated by Brecht Evens (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Alexander, the Servant & the Water of Life, illustrated by Reimena Yee (Hiveworks Comics)
  • Faster, illustrated by Jesse Lonergan (Bulgilhan Press)


  • LAAB Magazine #2: Eat / Shit, edited by Ronald Wimberly and Josh O’Neill (Beehive Books)
  • Isolated: A Pandemic Comics Anthology, edited by Tana Oshima (Self Published)
  • Smut Peddler Presents: Sordid Past, edited by Andrea Purcell (Iron Circus Comics)
  • Good Boy Magazine #1, edited by Michael Sweater and Benji Nate (Silver Sprocket)
  • Baltic Comics Magazine š! #42 ‘Scientific Facts’, edited by David Schilter, Sanita Muižniece (kuš!)


  • Arrive In My Hands by Trinidad Escobar (Black Josei Press)
  • Cover Not Final: Crime Funniesby Max Huffman (Adhouse Books)
  • Think I’ve Still Got It!By Wang XX, Translated by R. Orion Martin (Paradise Systems)
  • Boopby Alec Robbins (Silver Sprocket)
  • The Peanutbutter Sisters and Other American Storiesby Rumi Hara (Drawn & Quarterly)


  • Four Years Collected: Vol 2 by K Czap (Czap Books)
  • I See A Knight by Xulia Vicente (Shortbox)
  • Pee Pee Poo Poo #69 by Caroline Cash (Self Published)
  • Are Comic Books Real? by Alex Nall (Self Published)
  • Ode to Keisha by Jamila Rowser and Trinidad Escobar (Black Josei Press)


  • Discipline by Dash Shaw (New York Review Comics)
  • Power Born of Dreams: My Story is Palestine by Mohammad Sabaaneh, translated by Dalia and Mouin Rabbani (Street Noise Books)
  • Clutter: A Scatterbrained Sexual Assault Memoir by Ariel Bordeaux (Fieldmouse Press)
  • No One Else by R. Kikuo Johnson (Fantagraphics)
  • What is Home, Mum? by Sabba Khan (Street Noise Books)


  • Joy by Maritsa Patrinos (Self Published)
  • Pee Pee Poo Poo #69 by Caroline Cash (Self Published)
  • Carrington’s World by Summer Pierre (Self Published)
  • Phonestoned by King Ray (Self Published)
  • Sleemor Gank – Burg Land 1 by Alexander Laird (Self Published)



  • Methods of Dyeing by B. Mure (Avery Hill Publishing)
  • Trans Classic Movies by Jett Allen (
  • The Many Deaths of Laila Starr by Ram V and Filipe Andrade (BOOM! Studios)
  • Ley Lines by Keren Katz, Cameron Weston Nicholson, Jordan Jeffries, K Czap & L Nichols (Grindstone Comics & Czap Books)
  • The Nib Magazine, edited by Matt Bors (The Nib)


  • Big Cats by Liz Yerby (Self Published)
  • Ley Lines: The First Few Bars by Keren Katz (Grindstone Comics & Czap Books)
  • Ley Lines: Love, or the Axe by Jordan Jeffries (Grindstone Comics & Czap Books)
  • The Lover of Everyone in the World, from The Lover of Everyone in the World by Beatrix Urkowitz (Parsifal Press)
  • Winter Break 2029, from Invisible Parade, by Mississippi (Glacier Bay Books)


  • Arrive In My Hands by Trinidad Escobar (Black Josei Press)
  • Archeologist Landing by Yara Elfouly (Self Published)
  • Koreans Speak English by Juniper Kim (Self Published)
  • The Third Person by Emma Grove (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Djeliya by Juni Ba (TKO Studios)

2 thoughts on “Nominees announced for the 2022 Ignatz Awards”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.