Nominees announced for the 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award

Annual award for the ‘Most Promising Newcomer’ comic artist will be presented during the Eisner Awards in July at Comic-Con International.

Comic-Con International has announced the nominees for the 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award, named for the creator of Magnus, Robot Fighter and illustrator of the Tarzan and Star Wars comic strips.

Presented almost annually since 1982, the award recognizes an artist who, early in their career, “shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics.” The awards took a break during the pandemic, but returned last year when Luana Vecchio received the award.

Previous winners include Dave Stevens, Eleanor Davis, Jeff Smith, Marion Churchland, David Petersen, Tyler Crook, Dan Mora, Lorena Alvarez and Nate Simpson.

The nominees are:

Soroush Barazesh, writer/artist of Kings of Nowhere (Dark Horse)

Shof Coker, co-creator/artist of New Masters (Image)

Ryan Lang, writer/artist of Issunboshi: A Graphic Novel (Oni)

Tim Probert, writer/artist of the Lightfall series (HarperAlley)

Zoe Thorogood, writer/artist of The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott (Avery Hill), writer/artist of It’s Lonely at the Center of the Earth (Image), artist of Rain (Image)

2 thoughts on “Nominees announced for the 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.