Olivia Stephens, ‘Ducks,’ ‘The God of Arepo’ and more win at the 2023 Ignatz Awards

The annual awards honoring excellence in independent comics, graphic novels and minicomics were presented last night at the Small Press Expo.

The annual Ignatz Awards, which are shaped like a brick, were handed out last night during a ceremony at the Small Press Expo.

The Ignatz Awards, which have been presented since 1997, celebrate the outstanding achievements of independent comics, graphic novels and minicomics. They are named for the mouse that appears in the Krazy Kat comics by George Herriman.

Nominees were selected by a jury that included Ellen Lindner, Juniper Kim, L. Nichols, Ally Shwed, Jason Little and Kotaline Jones, with the winners being selected via an online ballot.

Congratulations to this year’s winners:

Continue reading “Olivia Stephens, ‘Ducks,’ ‘The God of Arepo’ and more win at the 2023 Ignatz Awards”

Kate Beaton, Ed Brubaker, Evan ‘Doc’ Shaner and more win at the 2023 Ringo Awards

The winners were announced during a ceremony held at the Baltimore Comic-Con this weekend.

The winners for the 2022 Ringo Awards were announced last night at the Baltimore Comic-Con. This marks the sixth year for the awards program named for artist Mike Wieringo, who passed away in 2007.

Nominees were selected earlier this year by an open nomination process and a jury that consisted of Diamond’s Troy-Jeffrey Allen, artist Richard Case, comics creator and instructor Amy Chu, writer Abby Denson and Valiant sales manager/former retailer John Petrie.

Besides the Ringo Awards themselves, a few other awards were given out during the ceremony, including two from the Hero Initiative. Chris Claremont received the Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award, while Al Milgrom received the Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award.

The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Spirit Award went to the comic World’s Finest by Mark Waid and Dan Mora, and published by DC. This award is selected every year by perennial jurors Todd Dezago, Craig Rousseau, Mark Waid and Matt Wieringo, Mike’s brother.

The Ringo’s fan award categories, which are selected by open voting, were also presented:

  • Fan Favorite Hero: Sam Young, Let’s Play
  • Fan Favorite Villain: Adam, The Guy Upstairs
  • Fan Favorite New Series: Nevermore
  • Fan Favorite New Talent: artist/colorist Ellie Wright
  • Fan Favorite Publisher: Dark Horse

You can see the rest of the winners below.

Continue reading “Kate Beaton, Ed Brubaker, Evan ‘Doc’ Shaner and more win at the 2023 Ringo Awards”