Kate Beaton, Ed Brubaker, Evan ‘Doc’ Shaner and more win at the 2023 Ringo Awards

The winners were announced during a ceremony held at the Baltimore Comic-Con this weekend.

The winners for the 2022 Ringo Awards were announced last night at the Baltimore Comic-Con. This marks the sixth year for the awards program named for artist Mike Wieringo, who passed away in 2007.

Nominees were selected earlier this year by an open nomination process and a jury that consisted of Diamond’s Troy-Jeffrey Allen, artist Richard Case, comics creator and instructor Amy Chu, writer Abby Denson and Valiant sales manager/former retailer John Petrie.

Besides the Ringo Awards themselves, a few other awards were given out during the ceremony, including two from the Hero Initiative. Chris Claremont received the Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award, while Al Milgrom received the Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award.

The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Spirit Award went to the comic World’s Finest by Mark Waid and Dan Mora, and published by DC. This award is selected every year by perennial jurors Todd Dezago, Craig Rousseau, Mark Waid and Matt Wieringo, Mike’s brother.

The Ringo’s fan award categories, which are selected by open voting, were also presented:

  • Fan Favorite Hero: Sam Young, Let’s Play
  • Fan Favorite Villain: Adam, The Guy Upstairs
  • Fan Favorite New Series: Nevermore
  • Fan Favorite New Talent: artist/colorist Ellie Wright
  • Fan Favorite Publisher: Dark Horse

You can see the rest of the winners below.

Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist)

  • Winner: Kate Beaton
  • Wes Craig
  • Alexis Deacon
  • Jenny Jinya
  • Snailords
  • Stan Sakai
  • Zoe Thorogood

Best Writer

  • Winner: Ed Brubaker
  • Anthony Del Col
  • Drew Edwards
  • Scott Snyder
  • Brian K. Vaughan

Best Artist or Penciller

  • Fahmida Azim
  • Kate Flynn
  • Molly Mendoza
  • Nicola Scott
  • Winner: Evan “Doc” Shaner

Best Inker

  • Gigi Baldassini
  • Scott Hanna
  • Sandra Hope
  • Winner: Klaus Janson
  • Mark Morales

Best Letterer

  • Justin Birch
  • Jerome Gagnon
  • Todd Klein
  • Micah Myers
  • Winner: Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou (tie)
  • Winner: Stan Sakai (tie)

Best Colorist

  • Daniela Barisone
  • Winner: Jordie Bellaire
  • Chris O’Halloran
  • Jacob Phillips
  • Dave Stewart
  • Ellie Wright

Best Cover Artist

  • Wylie Beckert
  • Jason Muhr
  • Bryan Silverbax
  • Winner: Greg Smallwood
  • JH Williams III

Best Series

  • Fractured Shards, Comics2Movies
  • Parker Girls, Abstract Studios
  • Saga, Image Comics
  • Season of the Bruja, Oni Press
  • Winner: Something is Killing the Children, BOOM! Studios

Best Single Issue or Story

  • 88 Days of Hell: One Ukrainian Man’s Experience in the Russian Filtration, Insider
  • A Hunter’s Tale, Elephant Eater Comics
  • Finding Batman, DC Comics
  • Winner: Jonna and the Unpossible Monsters, Oni Press
  • Punisher #1, Marvel Comics
  • Thieves, Nobrow
  • You Were My Joker That Night, Anatola Howard

Best Original Graphic Novel

  • Chivalry, Dark Horse Comics
  • Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands, Drawn & Quarterly
  • Winner: It’s Lonely at the Centre of the Earth, Image Comics
  • Tokyo Rose—Zero Hour: A Japanese American Woman’s Persecution and Ultimate Redemption After World War II, Tuttle Publishing
  • Twilight Custard, Ghostpod Publishing

Best Anthology

  • Cthulu Invades Wonderland, Orange Cone Productions
  • Lower Your Sights, Mad Cave Studios
  • The Silver Coin, Image Comics
  • Voices That Count, IDW Publishing
  • Winner: Young Men in Love, A Wave Blue World

Best Humor Comic

  • Breaking Cat News, GoComics
  • Crash and Troy, A Wave Blue World
  • Grumpy Monkey: Who Threw That?, Random House Children’s Books
  • Winner: The Illustrated Al: The Songs of “Weird Al” Yankovic, Z2 Comics
  • Little Tunny’s Snail Diaries, Silver Sprocket
  • My Bad, AHOY Comics
  • Revenge of the Librarians, Drawn & Quarterly
  • Whatzit, Heavy Metal

Best Webcomic

  • 88 Days of Hell: One Ukrainian Man’s Experience in the Russian Filtration, Inisder
  • The All-Nighter, Comixology Originals
  • The Guy Upstairs, WEBTOON
  • I Love Yoo, WEBTOON
  • Winner: Lore Olympus, WEBTOON
  • Offside: I Was a Pro Football Player. I Was Tricked into Going to Qatar to Work Construction, Insider
  • You Were My Joker That Night, Anatola Howard

Best Humor Webcomic

  • Background Noise, backgroundnoisecomic.com
  • Winner: Evil Inc., evil-inc.com
  • Finding Fiends, WEBTOON
  • Live with Yourself!, WEBTOON
  • Vampire Husband, WEBTOON

Best Non-fiction Comic Work

  • 88 Days of Hell: One Ukrainian Man’s Experience in the Russian Filtration, Insider
  • A Game for Swallows Expanded Edition, Graphic Universe – Lerner Publishing Group
  • Winner: Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands, Drawn & Quarterly
  • I’m Still Alive, Archaia – BOOM! Studios
  • Just Another Meat-Eating Dirtbag, Street Noise Books
  • Radium Girls, Iron Circus Comics
  • The Third Person, Drawn & Quarterly

Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel

  • The Aquanaut, Scholastic Graphix
  • Frizzy, First Second Books
  • The Ghoul Agency, Action Lab Entertainment
  • Winner: Jonna and the Unpossible Monsters, Oni Press
  • Kaya, Image Comics
  • PAWS: Gabby Gets It Together, Razorbill Books, Penguin Random House
  • Punk Taco 2, Adam Wallenta Entertainment
  • Tin Man, Abrams ComicArts

Best Presentation in Design

  • Beneath an Alien Sky, Rocketship Entertainment
  • Best of EC Stories Artisan Edition, IDW Publishing
  • Winner: Richard Stark’s Parker: The Martini Edition—Last Call, IDW Publishing
  • Ronan and the Endless Sea of Stars, Abrams ComicArts
  • Sara Deluxe Hardcover, TKO Studios

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.