Mark Millar makes his Dark Horse

The creator will move his Millarworld line to the publisher next year.

Mark Millar will join Brian Michael Bendis, Matt Kindt, Stan Sakai and others as the latest creator to take their creator-owned work to Dark Horse Comics.

According to Forbes, the deal will see Millar and Dark Horse release five new titles in 2024, all under the “Millarworld” banner. Dark Horse will also collect previous Millarworld titles like The Magic Order and Night Club. Previously Millar’s creator-owned work was being published by Image Comics.

“Can I just say that I’ve been a Dark Horse fan since the beginning, and this has been a decades-long love affair finally consummated?” Millar said. “I’ve loved what Mike and the team have been doing for years and so many of my friends are over there, having a great time. I really just wanted to join the party and not only haul my massive, shelf-groaning library with me, but also commit to several years of really exciting stuff in the wake of our Big Game crossover event.”

Over the last few years, Dark Horse has become an attractive destination for a lot of creators, as the publisher has offered Bendis, Sakai and now Millar the chance to have their own branded imprints.

“I’ve admired Mark’s work for years and I’m very excited to bring his Millarworld of stories to Dark Horse,” said Dark Horse founder Mike Richardson. “Mark’s world-building and character creation has put him at the forefront of the comics industry and we couldn’t be happier about welcoming him and his team to Dark Horse. As a big fan, I’m looking forward to seeing what surprises he has in store for us.”

While no release dates were given, one title that will come out under this new deal is Nemesis: Rogues’ Gallery, which will be drawn by artist Valerio Giangiordano and continue the story of the “What if Batman was the Joker?” character. Millar said on Twitter to expect more details on what he has planned in March of next year.

Update: Dark Horse sent out a press release today with some release dates for next year:

  • The Magic Order Volume 1 TPB — June 25
  • Nemesis: Reloaded TPB — July 9
  • Night Club Volume 1 TPB — July 30
  • The Magic Order Volume 2 TPB — Aug. 13

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.