Nominees announced for this year’s L.A. Times Book Prize

Sammy Harkham, Derek M. Ballard, Emily Carroll and more were nominated this year.

The Los Angeles Times has announced the finalists for this year’s L.A. Times Book Prize, which includes a category for Graphic Novels/Comics. The prize recognizes books published in 2023.

The Los Angeles Times has given an award in the graphic novel category since 2009, when Asterios Polyp by David Mazzucchelli won the award. Other previous winners include The Love Bunglers by Jaime Hernandez, Duncan the Wonder Dog by Adam Hines, Beverly by Nick Drnaso, Tillie Walden’s On a SunbeamThe Hard Tomorrow by Eleanor Davis and R. Kikuo Johnson’s No One Else. Jamila Rowser and Robyn Smith’s Wash Day Diaries won the award last year.

The winners will be revealed on April 19. Check out the finalists below.

Cartoonshow by Derek M. Ballard, published by Oni Press

Blood of the Virgin by Sammy Harkham, published by Pantheon

CODA by Simon Spurrier and Matías Bergara, published by BOOM! Studios

A Guest in the House by Emily Carroll, published by First Second

Social Fiction by Chantal Montellier, translated by Geoffrey Brock. Published by New York Review Comics.

In addition to the five titles recognized in the dedicated category, one graphic novel also made the list in another category — Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story by Sarah Myer was nominated in the Young Adult Literature category.

One thought on “Nominees announced for this year’s L.A. Times Book Prize”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.