Nominees announced for the 2019 Doug Wright Awards

Michael DeForge, Hartley Lin, John Martz and Fiona Smyth nominated for best book in the annual Canadian-focused awards program.

Nominees for the 15th annual Doug Wright Awards, which honor “the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics,” were announced this morning. The list includes four nominees published by Koyama Press and two from Peow Studio.

You can find the complete list of nominees below.

Finalists for the 2019 Doug Wright Best Book Award, presented for the best English-language book published in Canada, are:

  • A Western World (Koyama Press) by Michael DeForge
  • Young Frances (Adhouse Books) by Hartley Lin
  • Evie and the Truth About Witches (Koyama Press) by John Martz
  • Somnambulance (Koyama Press) by Fiona Smyth

Nominees for the 2019 Doug Wright Spotlight Award (a.k.a. The Nipper), presented to a Canadian cartoonist or team deserving of wider recognition, are:

  • Ariane Dénommé for100 Days in Uranium City (Conundrum Press)
  • Aminder Dhaliwal forWoman World (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Al Gofa forDark Angels of Darkness (Peow Studio)
  • Victor Martins forStay and You Don’t Have To be Afraid of Me 
  • Sylvia Nickerson forAll We Have Left Is This 
  • Eric Kostiuk Williams forOur Wretched Town Hall (Retrofit Comics)

And finally the nominees for the Pigskin Peters Award, which honor “the year’s most experimental, unconventional, or avant-garde comic.”

  • Eggshell 2 (ddogg) by William Dereume
  • Winter’s Cosmos (Koyama Press) by Michael Comeau
  • Promising Jupiter byRon Hotz
  • 310, 310 (Peow Studio) by Mushbuh
  • Retomber by Xiaoxiao Li

Winners will be chosen by a jury that includes Rotem Diamant, president and librarian of the Canadian Comics Open Library; Rebecca Roher, winner of the 2017 Doug Wright Best Book Award for her full-length debut, Bird in a Cage; Joe Ollmann, also a past winner of the Best Book Award, for This Will All End in Tears, in 2007, and a 2018 Best Book Award nominee, for The Abominable Mr. Seabrook; and Dalton Sharp, a cartoonist and long-time wrangler for the Toronto Comic Jam.

Winners will be revealed May 11 at the 15th annual Doug Wright Awards as part of the 2019 Toronto Comic Arts Festival (TCAF).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.