‘Zippy the Pinhead’ creator Bill Griffith wins the Reuben Award

The National Cartoonist Society recognized cartoonists and artists across several categories this week.

The National Cartoonists Society has awarded Zippy the Pinhead creator Bill Griffith with its prestigious Reuben Award. The award was presented last night at a ceremony and awards dinner in Jersey City, New Jersey.

Griffith was one of five cartoonists nominated for the award, chosen from a field that included Jeff Smith, Hilary B. Price, Will Henry and Mark Tatulli.

Griffith began his career in 1969, with his strips appearing in publications like East Village Other and Screw Magazine. He moved to San Francisco in the early 1970s to become part of the underground comix movement, which is where Zippy was born. The strip first appeared in Real Pulp #1, then became a weekly in 1976.

Continue reading “‘Zippy the Pinhead’ creator Bill Griffith wins the Reuben Award”

Colleen Doran, Alex Ross, Sarah Andersen among this year’s NCS divisional nominees

The National Cartoonist Society announces the divisional nominees for the 77th Annual NCS Reuben Awards.

The National Cartoonists Society has announced the 2022 NCS Divisional finalists for the 77th Annual NCS Reuben Awards, which annually recognize creators of comic strips, illustrations, comic books and more. The winners will be announced Sept. 7, and the nominees for their biggest award, the Reuben itself, should be announced soon.

The awards recognize the artist or cartoonist, so you’ll see work, the writer or publisher aren’t called out in the nominations. The graphic novel category nominees for this year include Colleen Doran, artist of Chivalry; Alex Ross, creator of Fantastic Four: Full Circle; and Christian Meesey, artist of Time Shopper. For comic books, the nominees include Brett Bean, artist of I Hate Fairyland; Ben Bender, creator of The Littlest Viking; and Robert Goodin, creator of The Kurdles.

Webcomics creators are recognized in two categories — long form and short form. In the long-form category, the nominees include Phil Foglio, Brad Guigar and Sheldon creator Dave Kellett. In the short-form category, Sarah Andersen, Tex creator Jesse Atwell and Rich Powell have been nominated.

Below is the full list of the nominees.

Continue reading “Colleen Doran, Alex Ross, Sarah Andersen among this year’s NCS divisional nominees”

Comics Lowdown | TCAF is back

Plus: Angoulême comics awards, Adam Ellis accuses filmmakers of plagiarism, and a look at the world of back-issue collectors and dealers

The Toronto Comic Arts Festival, which was canceled last year due to the pandemic, will return in May as a virtual event. The past year has been a difficult one; in June, TCAF co-founder and artistic director Christopher Butcher stepped down for both professional and personal reasons. This year’s festival will be online only, and it’s being run in partnership with the zine festival Canzine and the Toronto Hand Eye Society.

Continue reading “Comics Lowdown | TCAF is back”