Ringo Awards winners announced

Annual awards ceremony recognizes ‘the creativity, skill and fun of comics.’

The winners for the 2020 Ringo Awards were announced today, marking the fourth year for the awards program named for artist Mike Wieringo, who passed away in 2007.

The awards were presented virtually as part of the Baltimore Comic Con‘s online programming, and started with an introduction and keynote from Kevin Smith and Geoff Johns. It was also live, which led to some logistical/technical issues as they tried to “cut over” to winners for their acceptance speeches.

Here are the winners, in the order they were presented during the ceremony. They include the “fan favorite” awards, which have a different process than the rest of the awards. You can find more details on the process here.

Best Colorist: Jordie Bellaire

Best Cover Artist: Sana Takeda

Best Original Graphic Novel: Snow, Glass, Apples by Neil Gaiman and Colleen Doran

Best Presentation in Design: Stan Sakai’s Usagi Yojimbo: The Complete Grasscutter Artist Select (IDW)

Fan Favorite Hero: Clove from SubZero (Webtoon)

Fan Favorite Villain: John from unOrdinary (Webtoon)

Fan Favorite Award for New Series: Fangs by Sarah Andersen (Tapas)

Fan Favorite Award for New Talent: Sinran

Fan Favorite Publisher: Tapas

Best Letterer: Nate Piekos

Best Inker: Sandra Hope

Best Webcomic: Fried Rice, Erica Eng

Best Comic Strip or Panel: Nancy by Olivia Jaimes (Andrews McMeel Universal)

The Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Superman Smashes the Klan by Gene Yang and Gurihiru (DC)

Best Anthology: Jim Henson’s The Storyteller: Sirens (BOOM! Studios/Archaia Press)

Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel: Guts by Raina Telgemeier (Graphix/Scholastic)

Best Humor Comic: Superman’s Pal Jimmy Olsen by Matt Fraction and Steve Lieber (DC)

Best Writer: Mariko Tamaki

Best Non-fiction Comic Work: They Called Us Enemy (IDW Publishing/Top Shelf)

Best Artist or Penciller: Sanford Greene

Best Series: Bitter Root by David F. Walker, Chuck Brown and Sanford Greene (Image Comics)

Best Single Issue or Story: Usagi Yojimbo #6 by Stan Sakai (IDW Publishing)

Best Cartoonist (writer and artist): Stan Sakai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.