‘Laila Starr,’ ‘No One Else’ and more win 2022 Ignatz Awards

The annual awards honoring excellence in independent comics, graphic novels and minicomics returned in person at the Small Press Expo.

For the first time since 2019, the annual Ignatz Awards returned to a live, in-person event at the Small Press Expo last night, presenting awards in 10 categories to small press creators.

The Ignatz Awards, which have been handed out since 1997, celebrate the outstanding achievements of independent comics, graphic novels and alternative political cartoons. They are named for the mouse that appears in the Krazy Kat comics by George Herriman.

Nominees were determined by a jury that included Cuyler Hedlund, Breena Nunez, Josh O’Neil, Alex Hoffman and Hazel Newlevant. Anyone could vote on the winners, which was done over email rather than in person at the show, like it’s been in previous years.

Congratulations to this year’s winners, marked in bold below:


  • Halcyon, illustrated by Ron Regé Jr. (Fantagraphics)
  • Four Years Collected: Vol 2, by K Czap (Czap Books)
  • The City of Belgium, illustrated by Brecht Evens (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • WINNER: Alexander, the Servant & the Water of Life, illustrated by Reimena Yee (Hiveworks Comics)
  • Faster, illustrated by Jesse Lonergan (Bulgilhan Press)


  • LAAB Magazine #2: Eat / Shit, edited by Ronald Wimberly and Josh O’Neill (Beehive Books)
  • Isolated: A Pandemic Comics Anthology, edited by Tana Oshima (Self Published)
  • Smut Peddler Presents: Sordid Past, edited by Andrea Purcell (Iron Circus Comics)
  • WINNER: Good Boy Magazine #1, edited by Michael Sweater and Benji Nate (Silver Sprocket)
  • Baltic Comics Magazine š! #42 ‘Scientific Facts’, edited by David Schilter, Sanita Muižniece (kuš!)


  • Arrive In My Hands by Trinidad Escobar (Black Josei Press)
  • Cover Not Final: Crime Funniesby Max Huffman (Adhouse Books)
  • Think I’ve Still Got It!By Wang XX, Translated by R. Orion Martin (Paradise Systems)
  • WINNER: Mr. Boop by Alec Robbins (Silver Sprocket)
  • The Peanutbutter Sisters and Other American Storiesby Rumi Hara (Drawn & Quarterly)


  • Four Years Collected: Vol 2 by K Czap (Czap Books)
  • WINNER: I See A Knight by Xulia Vicente (Shortbox)
  • Pee Pee Poo Poo #69 by Caroline Cash (Self Published)
  • Are Comic Books Real? by Alex Nall (Self Published)
  • Ode to Keisha by Jamila Rowser and Trinidad Escobar (Black Josei Press)


  • Discipline by Dash Shaw (New York Review Comics)
  • Power Born of Dreams: My Story is Palestine by Mohammad Sabaaneh, translated by Dalia and Mouin Rabbani (Street Noise Books)
  • Clutter: A Scatterbrained Sexual Assault Memoir by Ariel Bordeaux (Fieldmouse Press)
  • WINNER: No One Else by R. Kikuo Johnson (Fantagraphics)
  • What is Home, Mum? by Sabba Khan (Street Noise Books)
Pee Pee Poo Poo #69


  • Joy by Maritsa Patrinos (Self Published)
  • WINNER: PeePee PooPoo #69 by Caroline Cash (Self Published)
  • Carrington’s World by Summer Pierre (Self Published)
  • Phonestoned by King Ray (Self Published)
  • Sleemor Gank – Burg Land 1 by Alexander Laird (Self Published)
from Ride or Die


The Many Deaths of Laila Starr


  • Methods of Dyeing by B. Mure (Avery Hill Publishing)
  • Trans Classic Movies by Jett Allen (intomore.com)
  • WINNER: The Many Deaths of Laila Starr by Ram V and Filipe Andrade (BOOM! Studios)
  • Ley Lines by Keren Katz, Cameron Weston Nicholson, Jordan Jeffries, K Czap & L Nichols (Grindstone Comics & Czap Books)
  • The Nib Magazine, edited by Matt Bors (The Nib)


  • Big Cats by Liz Yerby (Self Published)
  • Ley Lines: The First Few Bars by Keren Katz (Grindstone Comics & Czap Books)
  • Ley Lines: Love, or the Axe by Jordan Jeffries (Grindstone Comics & Czap Books)
  • WINNER: The Lover of Everyone in the World, from The Lover of Everyone in the World by Beatrix Urkowitz (Parsifal Press)
  • Winter Break 2029, from Invisible Parade, by Mississippi (Glacier Bay Books)
from Djeliya


  • Arrive In My Hands by Trinidad Escobar (Black Josei Press)
  • Archeologist Landing by Yara Elfouly (Self Published)
  • Koreans Speak English by Juniper Kim (Self Published)
  • The Third Person by Emma Grove (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • WINNER: Djeliya by Juni Ba (TKO Studios)

2 thoughts on “‘Laila Starr,’ ‘No One Else’ and more win 2022 Ignatz Awards”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.