Nominees announced for the 2022 Ignyte Awards

‘Count,’ ‘Abbott: 1973’ and more were nominated in the comics category this year.

The nominees have been announced for the third annual Ignyte Awards, which “celebrate the vibrancy and diversity of the current and future landscapes of science fiction, fantasy, and horror by recognizing incredible feats in storytelling and outstanding efforts toward inclusivity of the genre.”

The awards are given out in conjunction with FIYAHCON, a virtual convention centering the perspectives and celebrating the contributions of BIPOC in speculative fiction.

The awards include a comics category. Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler, which was adapted into a graphic novel by Damian Duffy and John Jennings, won the award last year.

The nominees for the comics category this year include:

Abbott: 1973 – Saladin Ahmed and Sami Kivelä  (Boom! Studios)

Count – Ibrahim Moustafa, Brad Simpson and Hassan Otsame-Elhaou (Humanoids, Inc.)

Nubia: Real One – L. L. McKinney & Robyn Smith (DC Comics)

Shadow Life – Hiromi Goto & Ann Xu (First Second)

Squad – Maggie Tokuda-Hall and Lisa Sterle (Green Willow Books)

You can see the full list of nominees across all categories on the FIYAHCON website. Voting is open to everyone via a public ballot. Winners will be announced in September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.